Empowered by TIIDELab: My Journey to Self Reliance: 2.0

Empowered by TIIDELab: My Journey to Self Reliance: 2.0

Introduction

Time has swiftly passed, and it's already been 2 months at TIIDELab. This second month has been a remarkable continuation of my journey, characterized by extensive learning, personal growth, and fruitful networking. The TIIDELab experience has been a profound exploration of adaptation and evolution, and I am excited to share the insights gained thus far.

The Triumph of JavaScript

Building a Strong Foundation My journey commenced with an intensive focus on HTML, CSS, version control systems, and professional development courses. This foundational knowledge has empowered me with the expertise required to thrive in any organizational setting and make meaningful contributions to its development.

JavaScript, once a daunting prospect, has become as familiar to me as the English language. The guidance of Mr. Ibrahim Lukeman Kehinde has been instrumental in demystifying this programming language. TIIDELab's multifaceted learning approach, encompassing live classes, educational resources, coding partner sessions, peer learning, presentations, online tutorials, and more, has rendered the learning process both enjoyable and educational. I have successfully tackled JavaScript data types, the intricacies of the Document Object Model (DoM), and array methods. Notably, I have created practical mini-projects, such as a USSD code prompt and a factorial calculator. These accomplishments have not only bolstered my confidence but also obliterated any apprehensions I once had regarding JavaScript.

Professional Development

The professional development classes, spearheaded by Mr. Shams, our esteemed mentor, have had a transformative impact. These sessions have honed my problem-solving capabilities, decision-making acumen, skills in problem framing, and elevated my awareness of decision traps. Consequently, my soft skills have undergone significant enhancements, and my outlook has undergone profound shifts.

Leadership Experience

Accepting the role of Team Lead within Team Innodevs has been both a rewarding and challenging undertaking. This responsibility has instilled in me qualities of tolerance, patience, and an unwavering ability to maintain composure during tense situations. Importantly, this experience has underscored the interconnectedness and interdependence of team members, emphasizing their indispensable contributions to the collective growth and progress of the team.

Overcoming Social Hurdles

My commitment to personal growth led me to confront my inherent shyness, as per the wise counsel of Mr. Salami, who reminds us that "you can't go far in life by being shy." During our bi-weekly meetups, I proactively initiated conversations, expanded my network, forged meaningful connections, and witnessed a marked improvement in my social interactions.

Conclusion

TIIDELab is more than just an educational boot camp; it is a life-altering experience. The unwavering dedication of ITF, NECA, and TIIDELab to the success and growth of participants is truly commendable. I extend my heartfelt gratitude for this exceptional opportunity to tap into my potential and become self-reliant. If you have yet to join the TIIDELab family, you are undeniably missing out. Stay tuned for forthcoming chapters chronicling my journey to self-reliance.